Beyond the Athlete: Jen Grigsby

Posted: March 24, 2014 in Uncategorized

Grgis podium

1. Where did you grow up?

I was born in Pittsburgh and lived there until I was 11. Then my family moved to Southern York County.

2. What is your athletic background?

I was a competitive cheerleader in high school. I probably would have tried other sports, but I was always on two squads, which took up a lot of my time and conflicted with other practice schedules.  For people that laugh at the athletic part of cheerleading, just know that we did a lot of push-ups and runs while shouting our cheers to build endurance. When I was younger I was a flyer in stunts, but then switched to a base. As a base you throw people in the air- think a lot of thrusters!!!! Now think of doing Fran while shouting the whole time. Yep.

3. How did you get started with CrossFit?

I went to a strong man class with Sarah Adams. Her friend, Mike Jenkins L, was sharing a space with the guy from 13 stripes. He invited us to come to his box opening for a free intro class. It was KILLER, but too far away. So we found 717. Home ever since and a much better fit!

4. How long have you been at CrossFit 717?

The end of March will be 2 years.

5. What are your favorite exercises/WODs?

I really like technical movements like Olympic lifts and gymnastics movements. I love a good chipper!

6. What exercises/WODs do you dislike?

Anything running. I try to improve, but my body just doesn’t want to go faster!

grings OHL

7. What are you goals with regards to CrossFit and what accomplishments/PRs are you most proud of?

Just keep pushing myself! I was pretty pumped last year when I hit my bodyweight snatch, but getting a muscle up was definitely the biggest achievement. Though it looks easy, it is probably one of the most technical movements (especially for females) in my opinion. It took a lot of hard work and determination!

8. In your perfect world, what would you be doing in 10 years?

Taking care of a happy and healthy family.

9. Where did you go to high school/college?

Susquehannock High School, Shippensburg for undergrad, Temple for grad.

10. What is your current occupation?

Special Education Teacher

11. If you could eat dinner with 3 people past or present, who would you choose? Furthermore, what would you order for dinner? 

I would choose my grandfather that passed away from Alzheimer’s when I was in elementary school. I hear get stories from my family and I have a lot of questions about which ones are true. We would have medium rare filet, crab, veggies, and a bottle of wine.

12. Who is your celebrity crush?

Don’t have one. Celebrities are just people.

Grigs pull up

13.  What is your favorite movie?

Don’t have one. I love anything that will make me laugh!

14.  What is your favorite thing about CrossFit 717?

I love that “me against myself.” I love to see hard work can pay off and that I always have an opportunity to push myself. I also love the community!

15.  If you could have any car, what would you choose?

Something I can fit my Rottie, Jaxon, in to take a ride. He’s my baby!

16. Tell us something interesting about yourself that we would be surprised to know.

When I was young I was incredibly shy. I really came out of my shell in high school, but still very quiet around new people. I am still that way occasionally, but you usually can’t shut me up nowadays.

17. What kind of shampoo do you use?

My mom is a hairdresser and she is a health nut. So currently whatever organic all natural stuff she gives me.

18. Have you ever been out of the country? If so, where and what was your favorite place?

Various Caribbean islands and Canada. London, England for an All-Star cheerleading trip. Guyana, South America- I lived there for almost a year. I was in the Peace Corps and worked as an Education Prompter.

Grigs pistol

19. What were your best and worst subjects in school?

Spelling was my worst. I love science.

20. What would you say is your worst personality trait?

As much as I try, I just can’t keep my big mouth shut! If I feel a certain way about something you will most likely know.

21. If you won $100 million in the lottery, what would you do with the money?  What is the first frivolous thing you would buy?

I would pay off all of our debt and our family’s debt. I would go on an amazing adventure traveling the world. Then, I would quit my job and start my own school or program that could really focus on helping children and families without all of the crazy school politics to get in the way.

22. You are banished to a deserted island for a month and can only bring one person (fictional or real) and one album with you.  Who do you bring and what album do you choose (keep in mind I said album, not song)?

I know I will probably get made fun of for this answer, but I would bring Frank. I have fun with him and I can put up with him for extended periods of time. HA! Album? That is really hard. I have very eclectic music tastes and it really depends on my mood! A month is a long time for only one album.

23. Who do you consider your role model or inspiration?

I have many people who inspire me and that I look up in various areas of my life. I do admire how my dad will always put others first. He is the kind of person that will always go without something so that others will not be in need.

24. What do you feel is the most important invention in the past 100 years?

Remember the commercial for the Information Super Highway? I was in awe of that as a kid! Definitely the Internet!

25. What are your favorite sports teams (you can list all teams for all sports you are a fan of)?

Pittsburgh teams

26. What are your hobbies and interests outside of the box?

I love baking and cake decorating. I will be making our wedding cake, which will be partially Paleo! Relaxing and hanging with friends is fabulous too.

 Grigs beer

 

Leave a Reply

